Chartfield School was founded in 1928 by Miss Bevan and Miss Cooke, with the intent of offering children the best possible education experience, and based in Westgate Bay Avenue overlooking the sea. Catering for children whose parents worked overseas and required boarding facilities for their children, the school gradually grew over the ensuing years and during the Second World War.
By 1950, Chartfield became solely a day school under the ownership of Miss Schofield, who would later leave the school to remarry. In 1958, the school moved to its present location in Minster Road, and was taken over by Miss Ballard and Miss Bailey, who would spend seventeen years at the school until their retirement in 1975. Strong supporters of the school, they did not move, however, and instead built a bungalow at the bottom of the garden. Sadly, Miss Ballard died in 1994 and Miss Bailey the following year.
Miss Allen owned the school for four years until, in 1979, Mr and Mrs Hobbs took over. At this point, it was decided that boys would, like girls, be allowed to stay until they were eleven years old – boys had previously left the school at seven years of age.
In 1999 Miss Shipley, herself a former pupil of the school, took over as Proprietress and in 2007, undertook the role of Headmistress, which she currently holds. In 2011, Mrs Neale, a long-time teacher at the school, became our newest Proprietress.
During our history, we have endeavoured to retain the family atmosphere for which Chartfield is well known, and to remember the meaning of the spider – the badge on our school uniform:
Spin cheerfully, weave skilfully,
Think greatly for the good of all.